Warrington Way 2016 & the Runfurther AGM/Prizegiving – updated

Warrington Way 2016

Debbie Cooper

Debbie Cooper

All photos in this post are courtesy of Lymm Runners (Nick Ham couldn’t make it!).  There are hundreds more on their Flickr site.  The Warrington race results are up on the Lymm Runners website.  Lymm Runners’ organisation was great, so many thanks to Kieran and the team for their hard work in putting the race on.

First to finish was Sean Fenwick in 5:29, 2nd was Adam Worrallo in 5:37, which secured him 3rd place in the Runfurther Championship.  3rd was Robbie Campbell ten minutes later.  First woman was Erika Lamb in 6:45, with Julie Bembridge just a minute behind her, and Karen Nash just 3 minutes behind Julie.  Karen was kicking herself once she realised she had been so close behind the other two at the finish!

Karen has managed to find time to write her run up in her blog, despite being busy packing for Nepal, and you can find that here.


Kevin Brennan, I think

So what was the race like?  The Warrington Way race was inspired by the Round Rotherham 50, and has a lot in common with that race.  It’s a mixture of farmland and threading your way through old industrial areas around Warrington, much of them now greened over.  It was flat and mainly fast, although there were some spectacularly wet and muddy bits.  Anyone in road shoes must have had a few problems, especially in the closing stages, which were the muddiest.  It had rained for hours before the race started, but it had pretty much stopped by the time we set off at 7:30, and although there were occasional spells of drizzle, there was only one heavy shower.  And it was warm – t-shirt and shorts weather really, although like nearly everyone else I set off in rather more than that.

I’d only run 7 miles in the past 6 weeks, so I knew I was going to suffer…

Me, suffering

Me, suffering

But I managed to keep running all the way, just, although people were going past me from about mile 15 all the way to the end.

Runfurther 2016 final standings

I’ve updated the leaderboard, and you can find that here.

This year’s Runfurther winners are:


  1. Kevin Hoult
  2. Andy Davies
  3. Adam Worrallo
  4. Martin Terry
  5. David Greenwood


  1. Karen Nash
  2. Debbie Cooper
  3. Michelle Brooks
  4. Alison Brind
  5. Janet Hill


  1. Martin Terry
  2. Chris Davies
  3. Ned Lammas


  1. Karen Nash
  2. Alison Brind
  3. Janet Hill


  1. Chris Davies
  2. Glen Davies
  3. Andy Robinson


  1. Janet Hill


  1. Bob Nash

M under 25

  1. Huw Davies

Most points

  • Men:  Andy Robinson (6458)
  • Women:  Karen Nash (8752)


  1. Mercia Fell Runners:  Andy Davies, Ned Lammas, Huw Davies
  2. Mercia Fell Runners:  Glen Davies, Noel Hogan, Stewart Bellamy
  3. Trawden AC:  Michelle Brooks, Mick Dobson, Jim Garside

There were no Grand Slam completions this year, although two of us did try!  Karen Nash was first woman home in all four Long races, and that appears to be the first time anyone’s achieved that.  Well done to everyone who competed this year, and particularly to our newcomers and our prizewinners.

2016 Runfurther AGM/Prizegiving

The AGM was another brief and painless one.  There was a shuffle round on the committee, with Karen Nash taking over as Chairman, Dick Scroop becoming Secretary, and me (Andy Robinson) now Assistant Secretary.  This was mainly due to my time being committed for 2017 to work on walking guidebooks – I won’t have time for much racing.  Nick Ham continues as Treasurer, and Chris Davies has now joined the committee.  The AGM minutes can be found on the “meetings” page here.

Kevin Hoult - men's winner

Kevin Hoult (on right!) – men’s winner

We had sandwiches & chips & the odd beer & went on to the prizegiving.  All the prizewinners are listed above, & most of them were there to pick them up.  If you couldn’t be there & haven’t had your prize yet you need to chase Dick Scroop.  The rest of the prizegiving photos are on Nick’s Flickr site here.